Option 2c: Small Conurbation and Large Dorset

Small Conurbation (Bournemouth and Poole) covering 46% of Dorset’s population (based on projections for 2019)

and Large Dorset (Christchurch, East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset, Weymouth & Portland, plus the services currently provided by Dorset County Council in this area) covering 54% of Dorset’s population (based on projections for 2019)

Key features:

  • This option would provide a total contribution of £32.8 million towards meeting the funding gap in 2024/25, providing £18.7 million for the Small Conurbation’s annual budget and £14.1 million for the Large Dorset annual budget.
  • It makes the least savings overall, of the three two-unitary council options.
  • The savings made are most evenly split across the two unitary councils.
  • The services currently provided by Dorset County Council remain with the Large Dorset unitary council — there is no separation work required , but services provided by the district and borough councils would need to be integrated into the new unitary council.

The predicted levels of council tax increase across Dorset in 2019/20 under option 2c

Council tax harmonisation – Small Conurbation

  • Bournemouth 3.85%
  • Poole 3.99%

Council tax harmonisation – Large Dorset

  • Christchurch + Dorset County Council: 3.99%
  • East Dorset + Dorset County Council: 3.41%
  • North Dorset + Dorset County Council: 3.72%
  • Purbeck + Dorset County Council: 3.51%
  • West Dorset + Dorset County Council: 3.65%
  • Weymouth & Portland + Dorset County Council: 3.64%
  1. Does not include council tax that households pay to Dorset Police, Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority or any precept set by town and parish councils.
  2. It is anticipated that harmonisation would take place over 20 years, starting in 2019/20.
  3. Council tax rises limited to 3.99%.